Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Tags: Announcement


Undergraduate Award Winners Announced

We are proud to announce the 2017 recipients of the Horace B. Russell Prize, the Frank Harrison III Scholarship, the Daniel Hart Memorial Scholarship, and the Richard H. Severens Scholarship. Congratulations to the students recognized below on these well-deserved awards! Matthew Schramm awarded the Frank Harrison III Scholarship and the Richard H. Severens Scholarship “As a double major in philosophy and religion, I have been privileged to…

Spring 2024 Dept of Philosophy Graduates
Congratulations Spring 2024 Graduates!

Cindy Ren was awarden a PhD, pictured with major professor Richard Winfield & Department Head Aaron Meskin. The Department of Philosophy hosted a reception and awards presentation on Friday, May 10 to recognize Spring 2024 graduates and award recipients. Students and their families gathered for refreshments in Peabody Hall as department head Aaron Meskin and undergraduate coordinator Melissa Fahmy recognized this year's graduates and…

UGA Ethics Bowl National Team 2024
Ethics Club Makes Semifinals in National Bioethics Bowl

Pictured l-r: Sam Guimond, Zoe Schweitzer, Peter Bartlett, Mong Vo, Mark Westrick, Caty Huff, Steve Guimond Congratulations to UGA’s Ethics Club for an impressive performance in the National Bioethics Bowl, which took place at Baylor College in Waco, TX on Saturday, April 13. Finishing as the highest ranked public university in the tournament, UGA’s team ranked 3rd place out of 20 teams, behind runner up Georgetown University and winner…

Peabody front
2024 Undergraduates Win Awards

Congratulations to Presidential Award of Excellence winner Sophia Gavalas, a double major in Philosophy and Microbiology. This prestigious honor is awarded to only a handful of graduating seniors each year and we are very proud to have a winner among our Class of 2024. Gavalas was a CURO Summer Research Fellow in 2022, and has won two CURO Research Awards. She is a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Honors Society, Co-President of the American…

Logic Tutoring Available

Are you a student in a logic class who is having trouble with the material? Do syllogisms make you squeamish? Do proofs make you perplexed? Do you just want some extra study help? Well worry no more! UGA philosophy graduate student Douglas Geiger offers free logic tutoring on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, noon to 1pm in 10A Peabody Hall: email him at to schedule an appointment.

F23 Phil graduates
Congratulations Fall 2023 Graduates!

The Department of Philosophy held a reception on Friday, December 15, 2023 to celebrate our students participating in Fall 2023 commencement ceremonies. We were excited to welcome their friends and families to Peabody Hall as we congratulated these accomplished young people and wish them well in all their future endeavors!  Graduate student Josué Piñeiro was awarded a PhD, he is pictured third from left with faculty Melissa Fahmy, Sarah…

Dr. Youjin Kong
Youjin Kong Joins Philosophy Faculty

The Department of Philosophy is excited to welcome new assistant professor, Youjin Kong. Kong's specializations in Social/Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, and the Ethics of Artificial Intelligence bring great expertise in areas of scholarship with tremendous relevance in contemporary society and culture. Her current research analyzes how AI reproduces gender and racial injustice and explores the nature of social identity and power…

Josué Piñeiro
Josué Piñeiro Accepts Position at Kennesaw State University

Department of Philosophy PhD candidate Josué Piñeiro has accepted a position as a full time lecturer at Kennesaw State University starting in Fall 2023. His dissertation focuses on epistemic injustice and epistemic resistance with the incorporation of elements of the ethical and the political, his research interests drawing from the philosophy of race, decolonial theory, and feminist philosophy.  Piñeiro's interest in philosophy…

2023 UGA Philosophy graduates
Congratulations 2023 Graduates & Award Winners

The Department of Philosophy hosted a reception and awards presentation on Friday, May 12 to recognize Spring 2023 graduates and award recipients. Students and their families gathered for refreshments in the atrium of Peabody Hall as department head Aaron Meskin and undergraduate coordinator Thanassis Samaras recognized this year's graduates and scholarship and award winners. All graduating seniors were presented with a gift bag containing a…

Undergraduate Scholarship Award Winners Announced

The Department of Philosophy is excited to announce the 2023 undergraduate scholarship and award winners. Congratulations to Ralph Liu, Kayleigh McCrystal, Joshua Track, and Emmalyne Zant: The Blackstone Scholarship Kayleigh McCrystal Kayleigh McCrystal is a Philosophy major who will be pursuing her Philosophy MA as a UGA Double Dawg. She carries a double minor in  Law, Ethics, & Philosophy and Law,…

Support Philosophy at UGA

The Department of Philosophy appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more.